Skip to content
KidneyPass
Official CMS data
← Other centers in Charlottesville
Illustrative location overviewPublished facility address1300 Jefferson Park Avenue, 5th Floor, Charlottesville, VA 22908Open Directions for an external road route and travel estimate. KidneyPass does not calculate either.
Facility illustration

Official facility record · CCN 492301

University of Virginia Hospital

1300 Jefferson Park Avenue, 5th Floor, Charlottesville, VA 22908

Hours: Not published · call to confirm

Facility contact actions

CMS source · fetched

Care and services

Official CMS facility facts

Medicare certification status
Currently listed as certified
CMS source · fetched
Dialysis stations
38
CMS source · fetched
In-center hemodialysis
Yes
CMS source · fetched
Home hemodialysis training
Yes
CMS source · fetched
Peritoneal dialysis training
Yes
CMS source · fetched
Shifts starting after 5 p.m.
No
CMS source · fetched

CMS quality and patients

Separate official measures with full context

CMS five-star rating
1 of 5Scale: 1–5 stars · Measurement period: Jan 1, 2021–Dec 31, 2024
CMS source · fetched

Quality measures

Every value is shown with its CMS wording, reason when absent, unit, denominator, confidence bounds when present, measurement period, and provenance. KidneyPass adds no clinical interpretation.

CMS published 21 of 26 measures · verdicts: 1 better than expected · 9 as expected · 1 worse than expected.

All measure values: CMS source · fetched
Mortality Rate (Facility)

27.9 per 100 patient-years

CMS category: As Expected

National average: 22.2 per 100 patient-years

Measurement period: Jan 1, 2021–Dec 31, 2024

Denominator: 510

CMS confidence interval: 19.4–41.6

CMS-published direction: Lower values are better

CMS ↗ ·
Benchmark sourcesCMS national benchmark source · fetched
Hospitalization Rate (Facility)

144.6 per 100 patient-years

CMS category: As Expected

National average: 148 per 100 patient-years

Measurement period: Jan 1, 2024–Dec 31, 2024

Denominator: 121

CMS confidence interval: 101–221.2

CMS-published direction: Lower values are better

CMS ↗ ·
Benchmark sourcesCMS national benchmark source · fetched
Readmission Rate (Facility)

30.8 % of hospital discharges

CMS category: As Expected

National average: 27.2 % of hospital discharges

Measurement period: Jan 1, 2024–Dec 31, 2024

Denominator: 101

CMS confidence interval: 20.4–42.2

CMS-published direction: Lower values are better

CMS ↗ ·
Benchmark sourcesCMS national benchmark source · fetched
Transfusion Rate (Facility)

47.9 per 100 patient-years

CMS category: As Expected

National average: 32.5 per 100 patient-years

Measurement period: Jan 1, 2024–Dec 31, 2024

Denominator: 62

CMS confidence interval: 27.5–99.7

CMS-published direction: Lower values are better

CMS ↗ ·
Benchmark sourcesCMS national benchmark source · fetched
First Year Standardized Kidney Transplant Waitlist Ratio

1.36 standardized ratio

CMS category: As Expected

National average: 1 standardized ratio

Measurement period: Jan 1, 2021–Dec 31, 2023

Denominator: 53

CMS confidence interval: 0.59–2.67

CMS-published direction: Higher values are better

CMS ↗ ·
Benchmark sourcesCMS national benchmark source · fetched
Percentage of Prevalent Patients Waitlisted for Kidney Transplant

21.5 % of prevalent patients

CMS category: As Expected

National average: 16.5 % of prevalent patients

Measurement period: Oct 1, 2024–Sep 30, 2025

Denominator: 123

CMS confidence interval: 11.3–37.2

CMS-published direction: Higher values are better

CMS ↗ ·
Benchmark sourcesCMS national benchmark source · fetched
Standardized ED visits ratio (Facility)

1.03 standardized ratio

CMS category: As Expected

National average: 0.99 standardized ratio

Measurement period: Jan 1, 2024–Dec 31, 2024

Denominator: 76

CMS confidence interval: 0.66–1.85

CMS-published direction: Lower values are better

CMS ↗ ·
Benchmark sourcesCMS national benchmark source · fetched
Standardized ED visits within 30 days of hospital discharge ratio (Facility)

0.74 standardized ratio

CMS category: As Expected

National average: 1.04 standardized ratio

Measurement period: Jan 1, 2023–Dec 31, 2024

Denominator: 104

CMS confidence interval: 0.27–1.44

CMS-published direction: Lower values are better

CMS ↗ ·
Benchmark sourcesCMS national benchmark source · fetched
SMoSR: Standardized Modality Switch Ratio (FACILITY)

0.69 standardized ratio

CMS category: As Expected

National average: 1 standardized ratio

Measurement period: Jan 1, 2021–Dec 31, 2023

Denominator: 56

CMS confidence interval: 0.19–1.76

CMS-published direction: Higher values are better

CMS ↗ ·
Benchmark sourcesCMS national benchmark source · fetched
Standard Infection Ratio

0.44 standardized infection ratio

CMS category: Better than Expected

Measurement period: Jan 1, 2024–Dec 31, 2024

CMS confidence interval: 0.16–0.97

CMS-published direction: Lower values are better

CMS ↗ ·
Fistula Rate (Facility)

32 % of patient-months

CMS category: Worse than Expected

National average: 57.1 % of patient-months

Measurement period: Oct 1, 2024–Sep 30, 2025

Denominator: 102

CMS confidence interval: 5–54.1

CMS-published direction: Higher values are better

CMS ↗ ·
Benchmark sourcesCMS national benchmark source · fetched
Healthcare worker COVID-19 vaccination adherence percentage

Facility11 % of healthcare personnel

National average4 % of healthcare personnel

Facility11 % of healthcare personnel

VA average2 % of healthcare personnel

Measurement period: Jul 1, 2025–Sep 30, 2025

CMS ↗ ·
Benchmark sourcesCMS national benchmark source · fetched CMS state benchmark source · fetched
Percent of Adult HD patients with Kt/V >= 1.2

Facility91 % of adult HD patients

National average97 % of adult HD patients

Facility91 % of adult HD patients

VA average97 % of adult HD patients

Measurement period: Oct 1, 2024–Sep 30, 2025

Denominator: 91

CMS ↗ ·
Benchmark sourcesCMS national benchmark source · fetched CMS state benchmark source · fetched
Percentage of Adult PD PTS with Kt/V >= 1.7

Facility85 % of adult PD patients

National average92 % of adult PD patients

Facility85 % of adult PD patients

VA average92 % of adult PD patients

Measurement period: Oct 1, 2024–Sep 30, 2025

Denominator: 44

CMS ↗ ·
Benchmark sourcesCMS national benchmark source · fetched CMS state benchmark source · fetched
Percentage of Medicare patients with Hgb<10 g/dL

— not published

Why is this empty?

Data not reported. Call the dialysis center to discuss this quality measure.

CMS reason code 201 · code dictionary · fetched

Unit: % of Medicare patients

Measurement period: Oct 1, 2024–Sep 30, 2025

Denominator: 0

CMS ↗ ·
Percentage of Medicare patients with Hgb>12 g/dL

— not published

Why is this empty?

Data not reported. Call the dialysis center to discuss this quality measure.

CMS reason code 201 · code dictionary · fetched

Unit: % of Medicare patients

Measurement period: Oct 1, 2024–Sep 30, 2025

Denominator: 0

CMS ↗ ·
Percentage of Adult patients with hypercalcemia (serum calcium greater than 10.2 mg/dL)

Facility4 % of adult patients

National average1 % of adult patients

Facility4 % of adult patients

VA average1 % of adult patients

Measurement period: Oct 1, 2024–Sep 30, 2025

Denominator: 142

CMS ↗ ·
Benchmark sourcesCMS national benchmark source · fetched CMS state benchmark source · fetched
Percentage of Adult patients with serum phosphorus less than 3.5 mg/dL

Facility6 % of adult patients

National average7 % of adult patients

Facility6 % of adult patients

VA average6 % of adult patients

Measurement period: Oct 1, 2024–Sep 30, 2025

Denominator: 135

CMS ↗ ·
Benchmark sourcesCMS national benchmark source · fetched CMS state benchmark source · fetched
Percentage of Adult patients with serum phosphorus between 3.5-4.5 mg/dL

Facility26 % of adult patients

National average22 % of adult patients

Facility26 % of adult patients

VA average21 % of adult patients

Measurement period: Oct 1, 2024–Sep 30, 2025

Denominator: 135

CMS ↗ ·
Benchmark sourcesCMS national benchmark source · fetched CMS state benchmark source · fetched
Percentage of Adult patients with serum phosphorus between 4.6-5.5 mg/dL

Facility24 % of adult patients

National average27 % of adult patients

Facility24 % of adult patients

VA average26 % of adult patients

Measurement period: Oct 1, 2024–Sep 30, 2025

Denominator: 135

CMS ↗ ·
Benchmark sourcesCMS national benchmark source · fetched CMS state benchmark source · fetched
Percentage of Adult patients with serum phosphorus between 5.6-7.0 mg/dL

Facility26 % of adult patients

National average26 % of adult patients

Facility26 % of adult patients

VA average27 % of adult patients

Measurement period: Oct 1, 2024–Sep 30, 2025

Denominator: 135

CMS ↗ ·
Benchmark sourcesCMS national benchmark source · fetched CMS state benchmark source · fetched
Percentage of Adult patients with serum phosphorus greater than 7.0 mg/dL

Facility19 % of adult patients

National average18 % of adult patients

Facility19 % of adult patients

VA average19 % of adult patients

Measurement period: Oct 1, 2024–Sep 30, 2025

Denominator: 135

CMS ↗ ·
Benchmark sourcesCMS national benchmark source · fetched CMS state benchmark source · fetched
Percentage of Adult patients with long term catheter in use

Facility52 % of adult patients

National average19 % of adult patients

Facility52 % of adult patients

VA average21 % of adult patients

Measurement period: Oct 1, 2024–Sep 30, 2025

Denominator: 102

CMS ↗ ·
Benchmark sourcesCMS national benchmark source · fetched CMS state benchmark source · fetched

Patient experience

ICH CAHPS patient-survey scores are shown with the number of completed surveys behind every score. Survey period: 18Oct2024-11Jul2025.

CMS ICH CAHPS source · fetched
Nephrologists’ communication and caring

Top-box score: 59% · 32 completed surveys

Linearized score: 79 · 32 completed surveys

Dialysis center care and operations

Top-box score: 53% · 32 completed surveys

Linearized score: 75 · 32 completed surveys

Providing information to patients

Top-box score: 76% · 32 completed surveys

Linearized score: 76 · 32 completed surveys

Rating of nephrologist

Top-box score: 45% · 32 completed surveys

Linearized score: 80 · 32 completed surveys

Rating of dialysis center staff

Top-box score: 46% · 32 completed surveys

Linearized score: 80 · 32 completed surveys

Rating of dialysis facility

Top-box score: 56% · 32 completed surveys

Linearized score: 83 · 32 completed surveys

Medicare payment program

ESRD QIP payment record

Medicare reduced this facility's 2026 payments by 1% based on 2024 performance.

This payment-program record is not a patient price and not a KidneyPass quality verdict.

CMS ESRD QIP source · fetched

Contact and confirmation

Call before making a decision

Phone
(434) 924-5959
CMS source · fetched
Published address
1300 Jefferson Park Avenue, 5th Floor, Charlottesville, VA 22908
CMS source · fetched
Initial Medicare certification date
September 1, 1977
CMS source · fetched
Chain owner
State Owned
CMS source · fetched
County / Parish
Charlottesville City, VA
CMS source · fetched
ESRD Network
Network 5
CMS source · fetched
Profit status
Non-profit
CMS source · fetched

Facility complaints

Verified ESRD Network path

Complaints about this facility are handled by Quality Insights, phone 844-238-1190.

CMS source · fetched CMS ESRD Network directory · fetched Network phone source · fetched

Costs and coverage context

General sourced Medicare information

General Medicare context

What these Medicare figures mean

Medicare's base payment rate for one dialysis session.

$281.71 per session — 2026 Medicare base rateView sourceChecked

The coinsurance patients with Original Medicare pay for dialysis services after the Part B deductible.

20% of the Medicare-approved amount after the Part B deductibleView sourceChecked

This information is for reference only and is not a substitute for professional medical or insurance advice.

See the full published dialysis cost and coverage breakdownArranging guest dialysis while traveling

About University of Virginia Hospital

The CMS dataset record identifies University of Virginia Hospital in Charlottesville, VA. It names State Owned as the chain owner. The record reports 38 dialysis stations. Its initial Medicare certification year is 1977. CMS lists in-center hemodialysis, home hemodialysis training, and peritoneal dialysis training at this facility. The record does not list shifts starting after 5 p.m.

Nearest dialysis centers

Straight-line distances use the project's stored coordinates. Only active centers within 50 miles are shown.

No computed neighbor links are available within 50 miles for this record.

Dialysis centers in cities near Charlottesville

Cities with an active center within 50 miles of a center in Charlottesville, closest first; at most 8 are shown. Each distance is the straight-line gap between the closest pair of centers in the two cities, measured from the project's stored coordinates. It is not a road distance and not the distance between the cities themselves.